news 20150211


Dear Christ Church,

 

As plans for special events in 2015 are being organised we thought we should let you know the dates so that you can add them to your diaries:

 

Coming up soon

 

Ash Wednesday Holy Communion – 8pm on Wednesday 18th February in the Chapel,

 

David Newman, ex-curate of Christ Church, brings us his dynamic presentation of St Mark’s Gospel in a café-style service on Sunday 8th March at 10.30am.  Refreshments will be available in the interval.  Flier attached.

 

And Coming up Later

 

Holy Week – Palm Sunday is 29th March and there will be services at 8pm on Maundy Thursday 2nd April, 2pm on Good Friday 3rd April after the Churches Together in Orpington Walk of Witness in the morning and at 9am and 10.30am on Easter Sunday, 5th April.

 

Sunday 19th April – a bring and share lunch followed by our APCM.  There will be no 6.30pm service at Christ Church in the evening.  Instead we are giving people the change to attend the General Election Hustings at Orpington Baptist Church at 6pm.  Send your questions for the candidates in advance of the evening to mptravers@aol.com.

 

Big Church Day Out at Wiston House, West Sussex on Saturday 23rd May.  This is actually a weekend event but we are thinking about hiring a coach to take people for the events of the Saturday.  It is suitable for all ages, with many activities arranged for children.  There are musicians of all types, a market-place, numerous eating establishments, and many other fun activities planned.  Do access the following link for more details:   http://www.bigchurchdayout.com

 

Pentecost Sunday, 24th May.

 

Weekend of 13th and 14th June sees our final 75th Anniversary celebrations.

 

Holiday Club Sunday and BBQ (19th July), prep day (Tuesday 21st July), Holiday Club 22nd – 24th July.

 

Diocesan Day away at Leybourne Castle, Sunday 19th July, 1.30pm – 7pm.  We are aware that this clashes with our Holiday Club launch Sunday service and BBQ, but think some people may still like to attend this event.  More details to follow later. 

 

Parish Day away at Otford Manor, Saturday 3rd October.

 

 

Kind regards,

 

 

Andy Goddard